Linkedin’s New Year Resolution

Here’s the resolution I’d like from LinkedIn. It’s very simple. LinkedIn likes to allow people to view profiles anonymously. They give lots of good reasons why someone might want to do that: recruiters who want to check out potential leads, HR managers who want to investigate job applicants. Both these might want to not raise your awareness or hopes.
Okay, fine. But it doesn’t take much to think of negative, nefarious reasons someone might want to hide behind a veil of anonymity.
About 40% of views on my profile are anonymous. Many are repeat visitors (there is a way to tell that much). Who is so interested in me, yet so unwilling to let me know they are?
I don’t mind who looks at my profile, but I find it rude, frankly, to do it anonymously. It’s like meeting me at a party, asking all about me, and then refusing to even tell me your name when I ask.
You don’t want to tell people your name? Don’t want to tell them you’re looking? Fine, that’s your prerogative. But I should be able to deprive you of your opportunity to find out about me. As I would if you were so rude at a party.

So, LinkedIn, let me selectively block all anonymous views. That shouldn’t be difficult, and should be just as much my prerogative as anonymous viewing is theirs. There can be no valid reason for refusing.

Until then, if you’re an anonymous viewer, I’d invite you to consider your manners when viewing me. Or simply not to view me at all, thank you.

Leave a Reply

