Whisky Review: Lagavulin 37 Years Old

This was my great extravagance of the week. It was between this and a 34 year old Port Ellen.

A 37 year old Lagavulin. The 12 year old is always so reliable, that when I decided what to splash out on, this was an obvious choice. That said, it was an insane amount of money to spend on a bottle of whisky, and although it’s very, very good I wouldn’t buy a second even if I had the disposable income! I don’t suppose there are any left, anyway. The great sadness is that most people who buy one of the 1800 bottles probably won’t ever open it. What’s the point of that? If you’re going to buy a bottle – whether it’s a regular off the shelf or a special bottling, drink it (slowly, maybe – but drink it), or let someone else buy it who’s going to enjoy it as a drink, not an ornament.

I opened it. It didn’t disappoint.

37 years old is the oldest bottling Lagavulin have ever done. The distillery isn’t usually given to aged bottlings, perhaps they found an old barrel at the back. Lucky for us.

That said, it wasn’t cheap. It’s not an everyday bottle (unless you’re in a very different financial league to me!). Now I’ve bought it, it’s not so much better than the ‘everyday’ whiskies to be able to justify drinking it, apart from on special occasions. So it’s a bottle destined to be in my Monk’s Bench for years, giving up a glass or two a year.

But the idea of enjoying this for the next half decade suits me just fine. I hope it’ll have equally good (and obscenely expensive) company by then.

Ultimately, though, as good as this is I could have had ten bottles of the 25 year old Bunnahabhain for the same money. And – if I were buying again that’s what I’d have done. Sorry, Dad.

whisky review.Lagavulin37

Whisky Week 2013 >>

All Whisky Reviews >>

All Reviews >>

7 thoughts on “Whisky Review: Lagavulin 37 Years Old

  1. Pingback: Anthropith’s Whisky Week | The Vass

  2. Pingback: Whisky Review: @Bunnahabhain (25 Year Old) | The Vass

  3. Pingback: Whisky Review: @HighlandPark | The Vass

  4. Pingback: Whisky Review: Lagavulin 12 year old | The Vass

  5. Pingback: Whisky Review: Singleton 28 Year Old | The Vass

  6. Pingback: Whisky Review: @Bunnahabhain 40 Years Old | The Vass

  7. Pingback: My Blog Top Ten (up to date) | The Vass

Leave a Reply

