Whisky Review: @HighlandPark

I was surprised when I planned my whisky week blogs that I haven’t reviewed Highland Park before. It’s a regular resident of the Monk’s Bench, and except for a short period in the last few years, I’m never without a bottle.

There’s a good reason for this: It’s the first favourite of mine that I discovered for myself, rather than something I was introduced to by Dad. In fact, after I introduced him to it, he, too, was never without a bottle.

It’s the only one of my permanent top scotches that isn’t an Islay whisky. It’s still an island single malt, though, coming from Orkney.

Again, as is a theme with my favourites, it’s very easy to drink. You get a real sense of the heather, the peat, and (helped along by the colour) the honey. The smokiness has the edge taken off by a sweetness that the mainland malts just don’t seem to be able to emulate. It is simply delicious.

My bottle isn’t the shape of the one in the picture, and that’s one of the things I like about this scotch. The neck is wider than most bottles. It used to be wider still, but in narrowing it, the distillery have kept the very satisfying baritone glugging sound it makes as it pours. The bottle sits well in the hand as you pour, so all told this becomes a wonderfully complete experience: tactile, the sound, the aroma and the taste. Why would anyone ever want to be without it?

This or the Bunnahabhain is what you buy me for a happy christmas.

whisky review.highland park

Whisky Week 2013 >>

All Whisky Reviews >>

All Reviews >>

5 thoughts on “Whisky Review: @HighlandPark

  1. Pingback: Anthropith’s Whisky Week | The Vass

  2. Pingback: Whisky Review: Lagavulin 37 Years Old | The Vass

  3. Pingback: Whisky Review: @Bunnahabhain (25 Year Old) | The Vass

  4. Pingback: Whisky Review: Lagavulin 12 year old | The Vass

  5. Pingback: Whisky Review: Singleton 28 Year Old | The Vass

Leave a Reply

